top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAzeleah Cauchi

DrugSafe App

Updated: Sep 7, 2020


DrugSafe is an app in the progress of development for making good decisions and precautions when using drugs, most of the information out there aims to fight and stop drug use, this is mainly done by the government. More deaths are happening each year due to the ignorance of our people's needs and our culture by those in charge. Drug testing has been researched and proven to minimise the risks, saving many lives. The government has now banned safe and effective drug testing at festivals, the DrugSafe App allows everyone to get educated and conscious about the drugs going around our city.



THE PROCESS

Through generative research UX designers are able to gain insight and evaluate the results into "personas". This process helps companies and products to determine exactly who their target market is and what they need. In this project I used the generative methods of research including; surveys, card sorting and tree jacking. These findings were evaluated through information architecture; site map and user flow map.

I conducted my research on 16 participants in the age groups of 17-20 , 21-24 and 25+ . This was done online through surveyMonkey.


I found that my participants usually go out drinking, partying, eating out with some friends or just don't sleep on their weekends off work. The majority of participants have tried cocaine, weed, MDMA and other drugs too. They would most likely take drugs at a festival, party or with people they trust.

Most of the respondents stated that the info already out there (mostly government sites) are deemed untrustworthy, with no solutions to minimise risks; focused mostly on avoiding drug use.

40% of participants were 17-20

33% were 21-24

27% were over 25.

These are the 3 personas I created through my research:





CARD SORTING

I then conducted my open card sorting on Optimal workshop. The results were limited but still helped to gain insight for my information architecture and how well users know the drugs they take.


Majority of participants thought the drugs and their categories belonged in drug facts or other categories. They also misplaced them in the actual drug groups "depressants, stimulants and psychedelics". This shows me the users don't actually know the drugs they are taking.

TREEJACK

On Optimal Workshop I also conducted a closed card sorting method; Treejacking. This method of preferential research allows users to be prompted with scenarios to determine the success of the proposed information architecture from the previous card sorting.

These methods of research lead to significant findings in the behaviours and knowledge of my intended audience. I found that the majority of user's aren't fully aware of what the mainstream drugs actually are and 80% would actually buy a drug testing kit for peace of mind. User's are interested in learning more about their drugs, how to stay safe and conscious.

Below is the final site map and user journey:



Site map based on the card sorting and treejack results, all drugs are placed in logical categories for intuitive navigation.


This user journey map depicts the possible paths of interaction based on the needs of users. This solidified my findings and solutions.

FINAL PROTOTYPE

After conducting my user testing on paper prototypes and evaluating my wireframes I created my final prototype to be developed further in the future, as I plan to release this app one day in hopes of assisting many young Australians, also saving lives.



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page